The District Rural Development Agency (DRDA) Mon was established as a separate Agency in the year 1995 vide government of Nagaland Notification No. RD/DRDA-1/95-96 Dated 12-04-1995. DRDA Mon is mainly involved in developmental activities of the Rural areas through its monitoring and facilitating role in implementation of various employment generation and infrastructural development programmes aimed at improving the living conditions of rural poor through the grass-root level organisation ” The village development Boards” (VDBs). The Deputy Commissioner Mon is the Chairman VDBs and CEO MGNREGA.

               At present DRDA Mon is headed by Shri. Wennyei Konyak,  NCS, Project Director cum District Programme Co-ordinator, who is supported by Project Officer, Deputy Project Officer, A.P.O and staff of its establishment under DRDA Mon. There are 8 (Eight) Blocks under the administrative control of PD DRDA Mon. 

The Blocks are namely :

  1. Aboi Block
  2. Angjangyang Block
  3. Chen Block
  4. Mon Block
  5. Phomching Block
  6. Tizit Block
  7. Tobu Block
  8. Wakching Block

Each Block is headed by Block Development Officer cum PO (MGNREGA)

Some of the activities where DRDA Mon is engaged are:

  1. Grant-in-Aid to VDBs
  3. Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana Gramin (PMAY-G)
  4. Nagaland State Rural Livlihoood Mission (NSRLM)